Ford Bronco Sport towing capacity
The 2026 Ford Bronco Sport is rated for up to 2,700 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for), in its best-equipped configuration. Other configurations are rated lower.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Ford Bronco Sport
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4x4Automatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; footnote 5: Badlands and Badlands Sasquatch Package | 2.0L EcoBoost I4 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,700 lbs | 6,990 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package | p. 41 |
| 4x4Automatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; footnote 3: Big Bend, Heritage, Outer Banks and Big Bend Black Diamond Off-Road Package | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,200 lbs | 6,100 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package | p. 41 |
| 4x4Automatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; footnote 4: Sasquatch Outer Banks Package only | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,200 lbs | 6,320 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package | p. 41 |
2025 Ford Bronco Sport
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Badlands, 4x4Automaticfootnote 4: Badlands Sasquatch Package; table does not name the hitch type; the page lists only the Class II hitch receiver (ball-type); hitch left null per protocol | 2.0L EcoBoost I4 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,700 lbs | 6,890 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package | p. 41 |
| 4x4Automaticfootnote 2: Big Bend Black Diamond Off-Road and Sasquatch Outer Banks Packages only; table does not name the hitch type; the page lists only the Class II hitch receiver (ball-type); hitch left null per protocol | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,200 lbs | 6,305 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package | p. 41 |
2024 Ford Bronco Sport
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Badlands, 4x4Automatictable does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol | 2.0L EcoBoost I4 | 4WD | 3.81 | 2,200 lbs | 6,260 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B) | p. 34 |
| 4x4Automaticfootnote 1: Big Bend, Outer Banks and Heritage models only; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.81 | 2,000 lbs | 5,860 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B) | p. 34 |
2023 Ford Bronco Sport
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Badlands and Heritage Limited, 4x4Automaticaxle column headed Final Drive Ratio; GCWR column headed 4x4; series from footnotes 1 and 3; table does not name the hitch type; the page lists only a ball-type hitch receiver; hitch left null per protocol | 2.0L EcoBoost I4 | 4WD | 3.81 | 2,200 lbs | 6,260 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B) | p. 38 |
| Big Bend, Outer Banks and Heritage, 4x4Automaticaxle column headed Final Drive Ratio; GCWR column headed 4x4; series from footnotes 1 and 3; table does not name the hitch type; the page lists only a ball-type hitch receiver; hitch left null per protocol | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.81 | 2,000 lbs | 5,860 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B) | p. 38 |
2022 Ford Bronco Sport
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4x4Automatichitch type not labelled in table; page 45 lists a factory hitch receiver for this model, read as conventional; Badlands model only | 2.0L EcoBoost I4 | 4WD | 3.81 | 2,200 lbs | 6,260 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B) | p. 39 |
| 4x4Automatichitch type not labelled in table; page 45 lists a factory hitch receiver for this model, read as conventional; Big Bend and Outer Banks models only | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.81 | 2,000 lbs | 5,860 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B) | p. 39 |
2021 Ford Bronco Sport
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Badlands/First Edition, 4x4AutomaticBadlands/First Edition models only; final drive ratio; hitch not named in table; page 41 lists a factory hitch receiver (conventional) for this model; calculated with SAE J2807 method | 2.0L EcoBoost I4 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,200 lbs | 6,260 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B), standard on First Edition | p. 37 |
| Big Bend/Outer Banks, 4x4AutomaticBig Bend/Outer Banks models only; trailer cell printed as 1,500(1)/2,000(2,4); final drive ratio; hitch not named in table; page 41 lists a factory hitch receiver (conventional) for this model; calculated with SAE J2807 method | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.80 | 2,000 lbs | 5,860 lbs | Class II Trailer Tow Package (53B), standard on First Edition | p. 37 |
| Base, 4x4AutomaticBase model only; trailer cell printed as 1,500(1)/2,000(2,4); final drive ratio; hitch not named in table; page 41 lists a factory hitch receiver (conventional) for this model; calculated with SAE J2807 method | 1.5L EcoBoost I3 | 4WD | 3.80 | 1,500 lbs | 5,860 lbs | p. 37 |
Common questions
How has the Ford Bronco Sport's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 2,700 lbs; 2025: 2,700 lbs; 2024: 2,200 lbs; 2023: 2,200 lbs; 2022: 2,200 lbs; 2021: 2,200 lbs.
What hitch are the Ford Bronco Sport ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.
Other Ford models
- Ford Bronco
- Ford EcoSport
- Ford Edge
- Ford Escape
- Ford Expedition
- Ford Expedition EL
- Ford Expedition MAX
- Ford Explorer
- Ford F-150
- Ford F-150 Lightning
- Ford F-250
- Ford F-250/F-350
- Ford F-350
- Ford F-350 Chassis Cab
- Ford F-450
- Ford F-450 Chassis Cab
- Ford F-550
- Ford F-550 Chassis Cab
- Ford F-600
- Ford F-600 Chassis Cab
- Ford Flex
- Ford Fusion
- Ford Maverick
- Ford Mustang
- Ford Ranger
- Ford Super Duty Class A Motorhome Chassis
- Ford Super Duty Commercial Stripped Chassis
- Ford Super Duty Stripped Chassis
- Ford Taurus
- Ford Transit
- Ford Transit Connect