2018 Ford Fusion towing capacity

Up to 2,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: Fusion FWD/AWD, 2.0L EcoBoost I4, FWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 1,000 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating2,000 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 1,000 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2018 Ford Fusion towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
2.0L EcoBoost I42,000 lbs2
1.5L EcoBoost I41,000 lbs1
2.5L I41,000 lbs1
2.7L EcoBoost V61,000 lbs1

2018 Ford Fusion towing capacity chart

All 5 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2018 Ford Fusion 2.0L EcoBoost I4 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Fusion FWD/AWDAutomatic Transmissionhitch type not stated for this table; footnote 1: no factory towing equipment, aftermarket accessory only; axle configuration printed as FWD/AWD covers both; footnote 4: Fusion Hybrid and Energi not rated to tow; calculated with SAE J2807 methodFWD2,000 lbsaftermarket towing equipmentp. 31
Fusion FWD/AWDAutomatic Transmissionhitch type not stated for this table; footnote 1: no factory towing equipment, aftermarket accessory only; axle configuration printed as FWD/AWD covers both; footnote 4: Fusion Hybrid and Energi not rated to tow; calculated with SAE J2807 methodAWD2,000 lbsaftermarket towing equipmentp. 31
2018 Ford Fusion 1.5L EcoBoost I4 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Fusion FWDAutomatic Transmissionhitch type not stated for this table; footnote 1: no factory towing equipment, aftermarket accessory only; footnote 4: Fusion Hybrid and Energi not rated to tow; calculated with SAE J2807 methodFWD1,000 lbsaftermarket towing equipmentp. 31
2018 Ford Fusion 2.5L I4 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Fusion FWDAutomatic Transmissionhitch type not stated for this table; footnote 1: no factory towing equipment, aftermarket accessory only; footnote 4: Fusion Hybrid and Energi not rated to tow; calculated with SAE J2807 methodFWD1,000 lbsaftermarket towing equipmentp. 31
2018 Ford Fusion 2.7L EcoBoost V6 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Fusion AWDAutomatic Transmissionhitch type not stated for this table; footnote 1: no factory towing equipment, aftermarket accessory only; footnote 5: Sport series only; footnote 4: Fusion Hybrid and Energi not rated to tow; calculated with SAE J2807 methodAWD1,000 lbsaftermarket towing equipment; Sport seriesp. 31

Common questions

Which 2018 Ford Fusion engine tows the most?

2.0L EcoBoost I4, at up to 2,000 lbs. Next is 1.5L EcoBoost I4 at up to 1,000 lbs.

What does a 2018 Ford Fusion need to tow 2,000 lbs?

The source lists this for the top-rated configuration: aftermarket towing equipment.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2018 RV & Trailer Towing Guide. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2018 Ford Fusion

The manufacturer's tables name this equipment for some 2018 Ford Fusion configurations. Equipment does not raise a rating. Check the Needs column for your own build before buying anything.

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings