2018 Honda Ridgeline towing capacity
Up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: Sport AWD, V6, 3471 cc, AWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 3,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.
The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.
2018 Honda Ridgeline towing capacity chart
All 9 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sport AWD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| RTL AWD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| RTL-T AWD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| RTL-E AWD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Black Edition AWD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| RT 2WD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / NA' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Sport 2WD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| RTL 2WD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| RTL-T 2WD6-Speed Automatic Transmission (6AT)drive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; page 4 lists a trailer hitch as a feature row ('Integrated Class III Trailer Hitch') but does not tie the rating to it | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 |
Common questions
What does a 2018 Honda Ridgeline need to tow 5,000 lbs?
The source lists this for the top-rated configuration: accessory towing equipment.
Where do these numbers come from?
From 2018 Honda Ridgeline Specifications & Features. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.
Towing equipment for the 2018 Honda Ridgeline
The manufacturer's tables name this equipment for some 2018 Honda Ridgeline configurations. Equipment does not raise a rating. Check the Needs column for your own build before buying anything.
- Trailer hitch receiver, listed for 9 of 9 configurations. See on Amazon (paid link)
Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.
- Trailer wiring harness for the 2018 Honda Ridgeline. See on Amazon (paid link)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.
Where these numbers come from
- 2018 Honda Ridgeline Specifications & Features, Honda. Manufacturer press specifications. Retrieved October 3, 2026.
Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.
Related ratings
- 2019 Honda Ridgeline towing capacity
- 2017 Honda Ridgeline towing capacity
- Every year of the Honda Ridgeline
- Other pickup trucks that can tow 5,000 lbs
- 2018 Honda Pilot, up to 5,000 lbs
- 2018 Honda Odyssey, up to 3,500 lbs
- 2018 Honda CR-V, up to 1,500 lbs