2024 Subaru Forester towing capacity
Up to 3,000 lbs with a conventional ball hitch. That rating is for this configuration: Wilderness, Forester Wilderness, 182-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER, AWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 1,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.
The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.
2024 Subaru Forester towing capacity by engine
The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.
2024 Subaru Forester towing capacity chart
All 11 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wilderness, Forester WildernessLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '3,000-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 11 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure | AWD | 3,000 lbs | p. 8 | ||
| Wilderness, 2024 Forester WildernessLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '3,000-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 10 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure; this column is headed '2024 Forester Wilderness' inside the 2025 brochure, so model_year is 2024 as printed | AWD | 3,000 lbs | p. 8 | ||
| ForesterLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '1,500-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 11 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure | AWD | 1,500 lbs | p. 8 | ||
| Forester PremiumLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '1,500-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 11 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure | AWD | 1,500 lbs | p. 8 | ||
| Forester SportLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '1,500-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 11 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure | AWD | 1,500 lbs | p. 8 | ||
| Forester LimitedLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '1,500-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 11 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure | AWD | 1,500 lbs | p. 8 | ||
| Forester TouringLineartronic CVTfeature bullet under this trim: '1,500-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 1 (page 12): maximum towing capacity varies by trim level, trailer brakes may be needed, do not use any weight-distributing hitch; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 11 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same figure | AWD | 1,500 lbs | p. 8 |
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wilderness, Accessory Trailer Hitch, Forester Wildernessaccessory text: 'Forester Wilderness is rated at 300 lbs. tongue weight with 3,000 lbs. capacity' | AWD | 3,000 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 11 | |
| Wilderness, Accessory Trailer Hitch, 2024 Forester Wildernessaccessory text: '2024 Forester Wilderness is rated at 300 lbs. tongue weight with 3,000 lbs. capacity'; model_year 2024 as printed | AWD | 3,000 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 10 | |
| Accessory Trailer Hitch (trims other than Wilderness)accessory text: 'Rated at 150 lbs. tongue weight with 1,500 lbs. of towing capacity' | AWD | 1,500 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 11 |
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wilderness, Forester Wildernessheadline maximum: printed 'Up to 3,000 lbs. towing capacity' and 'ability to tow up to 3,000 pounds'; single-trim brochure, no table; the page 15 key-features list repeats '3,000-lb. towing capacity'; footnote 2: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 3,000 lbs | p. 6 |
Common questions
Which 2024 Subaru Forester engine tows the most?
182-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER, at up to 3,000 lbs. Next is Engine not named in the table at up to 3,000 lbs.
Where do these numbers come from?
From 2024 Subaru Forester Brochure; 2024 Subaru Forester Wilderness Brochure; 2025 Subaru Forester Brochure. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.
Towing equipment for the 2024 Subaru Forester
The manufacturer's tables name this equipment for some 2024 Subaru Forester configurations. Equipment does not raise a rating. Check the Needs column for your own build before buying anything.
- Hitch ball, listed for 3 of 11 configurations. See on Amazon (paid link)
- Trailer hitch receiver, listed for 3 of 11 configurations. See on Amazon (paid link)
Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.
- Trailer wiring harness for the 2024 Subaru Forester. See on Amazon (paid link)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.
Where these numbers come from
- 2024 Subaru Forester Brochure, Subaru. Manufacturer spec sheet. Retrieved October 3, 2026.
- 2024 Subaru Forester Wilderness Brochure, Subaru. Manufacturer spec sheet. Retrieved October 3, 2026.
- 2025 Subaru Forester Brochure, Subaru. Manufacturer spec sheet. Retrieved October 3, 2026.
Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.