2020 Kia Sorento towing capacity

Up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: LX V6, LX V6, Automatic transmission, AWD (lb.), 3.3L V6 Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI), AWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 2,000 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating5,000 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 2,000 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2020 Kia Sorento towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
3.3L V6 Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI)5,000 lbs8
2.4L I-4, Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI)2,000 lbs3

2020 Kia Sorento towing capacity chart

All 11 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2020 Kia Sorento 3.3L V6 Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI) towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
LX V6, LX V6, Automatic transmission, AWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The same table also gives 'Towing class, AWD': Class 3.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4
S V6, S V6, Automatic transmission, AWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe S V6 trim column is hidden in the printed PDF (the page's trim selector shows 3 columns); the value was read from this trim's own column in the saved page (html_path). The page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The saved HTML also gives 'Towing class, AWD': Class 3.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4from the publisher's web page
EX Sport V6, EX Sport V6, Automatic transmission, AWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe EX Sport V6 trim column is hidden in the printed PDF (the page's trim selector shows 3 columns); the value was read from this trim's own column in the saved page (html_path). The page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The saved HTML also gives 'Towing class, AWD': Class 3.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4from the publisher's web page
SX V6, SX V6, Automatic transmission, AWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe SX V6 trim column is hidden in the printed PDF (the page's trim selector shows 3 columns); the value was read from this trim's own column in the saved page (html_path). The page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The saved HTML also gives 'Towing class, AWD': Class 3.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4from the publisher's web page
LX V6, LX V6, Automatic transmission, FWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The same table also gives 'Towing class, FWD': Class 2.FWD3,500 lbsp. 4
S V6, S V6, Automatic transmission, FWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe S V6 trim column is hidden in the printed PDF (the page's trim selector shows 3 columns); the value was read from this trim's own column in the saved page (html_path). The page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The saved HTML also gives 'Towing class, FWD': Class 2.FWD3,500 lbsp. 4from the publisher's web page
EX Sport V6, EX Sport V6, Automatic transmission, FWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe EX Sport V6 trim column is hidden in the printed PDF (the page's trim selector shows 3 columns); the value was read from this trim's own column in the saved page (html_path). The page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The saved HTML also gives 'Towing class, FWD': Class 2.FWD3,500 lbsp. 4from the publisher's web page
SX V6, SX V6, Automatic transmission, FWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe SX V6 trim column is hidden in the printed PDF (the page's trim selector shows 3 columns); the value was read from this trim's own column in the saved page (html_path). The page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The saved HTML also gives 'Towing class, FWD': Class 2.FWD3,500 lbsp. 4from the publisher's web page
2020 Kia Sorento 2.4L I-4, Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI) towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
L, L, Automatic transmission, FWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The same table also gives 'Towing class, FWD': Class 1.FWD2,000 lbsp. 4
LX, LX, Automatic transmission, FWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The same table also gives 'Towing class, FWD': Class 1.FWD2,000 lbsp. 4
LX, LX, Automatic transmission, AWD (lb.)Automatic transmissionThe page does not say whether trailer brakes are assumed. Hitch type is not stated anywhere in the document. The same table also gives 'Towing class, AWD': Class 1.AWD2,000 lbsp. 4

Common questions

Which 2020 Kia Sorento engine tows the most?

3.3L V6 Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI), at up to 5,000 lbs. Next is 2.4L I-4, Gasoline Direct Injection (GDI) at up to 2,000 lbs.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2020 Kia Sorento Press Specs. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2020 Kia Sorento

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings