Subaru Ascent towing capacity
The 2026 Subaru Ascent is rated for 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). The source gives one figure for it.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Subaru Ascent
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 Ascent (single value, no trim given)single towing capacity printed for the model in the dimensions block | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 3 |
Source: 2026 Subaru Ascent Brochure
2025 Subaru Ascent
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascent Premium, Ascent Premium (lowest trim listed); Onyx Edition, Limited, Bronze Edition, Touring, Onyx Edition Touring include Premium/Limited key featuresdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard; feature bullet in the trim walk | 260-hp 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 10 |
Source: 2025 Subaru Ascent Brochure
2024 Subaru Ascent
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| 260-hp turbocharged BOXER | 5,000 lbs |
All 6 2024 Ascent configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2024 Subaru Ascent Brochure
2023 Subaru Ascent
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascent Premium, Ascent Onyx Edition, Ascent Limited, Ascent Onyx Edition Limited and Ascent Touringdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard; one value printed for the listed trims | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 11 | ||
| Ascent, Ascentdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 2,000 lbs | p. 11 |
Source: 2023 Subaru Ascent Brochure
2022 Subaru Ascent
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascent Premium, Ascent Onyx Edition, Ascent Limited and Ascent Touringdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard; one value printed for the listed trims | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 11 | ||
| Ascent, Ascentdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 2,000 lbs | p. 11 |
Source: 2022 Subaru Ascent Brochure
2021 Subaru Ascent
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ascent Premium, Ascent Limited and Ascent Touringdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard; one value printed for the listed trims | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 11 | ||
| Ascent, Ascentdrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 2,000 lbs | p. 11 |
Source: 2021 Subaru Ascent Brochure
2020 Subaru Ascent
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 2.4-liter DOHC Direct-Injection Turbocharged 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (260 hp) | 5,000 lbs |
| Engine not named in the table | 5,000 lbs |
All 6 2020 Ascent configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2020 Subaru Ascent Brochure V2
2019 Subaru Ascent
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accessory Trailer Hitch, models other than baseaccessory text: 'Rated at 500 lbs. tongue weight, 5,000 lbs. maximum towing capacity, with base models rated at 200 lbs. tongue weight and 2,000 lbs. maximum towing capacity'; trims are not named; trailer brakes may be needed | AWD | 5,000 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 16 | ||
| Accessory Trailer Hitch, base modelsaccessory text: 'base models rated at 200 lbs. tongue weight and 2,000 lbs. maximum towing capacity'; 'base models' is not defined on the page; trailer brakes may be needed | AWD | 2,000 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 16 |
Source: 2019 Subaru Ascent Brochure
Common questions
How has the Subaru Ascent's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 5,000 lbs; 2025: 5,000 lbs; 2024: 5,000 lbs; 2023: 5,000 lbs; 2022: 5,000 lbs; 2021: 5,000 lbs; 2020: 5,000 lbs; 2019: 5,000 lbs.
What hitch are the Subaru Ascent ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.