Subaru Outback towing capacity
The 2026 Subaru Outback is rated for up to 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for), in its best-equipped configuration. Other configurations are rated lower.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Subaru Outback
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| 260-hp 2.4-liter turbocharged SUBARU BOXER (page 2) | 3,500 lbs |
| 180-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (page 2) | 2,700 lbs |
All 6 2026 Outback configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2026 Subaru Outback Brochure
2025 Subaru Outback
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| 260-hp 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | 3,500 lbs |
| 182-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder | 2,700 lbs |
All 5 2025 Outback configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2025 Subaru Outback Brochure
2024 Subaru Outback
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| 260-hp 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | 3,500 lbs |
| 182-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder | 2,700 lbs |
All 5 2024 Outback configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2024 Subaru Outback Brochure
2023 Subaru Outback
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outback XT, Outback XT (2.4-liter turbo) columndrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| Outback, Outback (2.5-liter) columndrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.5-liter 4-cylinder | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 |
Source: 2023 Subaru Outback Brochure
2022 Subaru Outback
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outback XT, Outback XT (2.4-liter turbo) columndrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| Outback, Outback (2.5-liter) columndrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.5-liter 4-cylinder | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 |
Source: 2022 Subaru Outback Brochure
2021 Subaru Outback
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outback XT, Outback XT (2.4-liter turbo) columndrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.4-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| Outback, Outback (2.5-liter) columndrive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard | 2.5-liter 4-cylinder | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 |
Source: 2021 Subaru Outback Brochure
2020 Subaru Outback
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 2.4-liter DOHC Direct Injection Turbocharged 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (260 hp) | 3,500 lbs |
| 2.4L Turbo | 3,500 lbs |
| 2.5-liter DOHC direct-injection 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (182 hp) | 2,700 lbs |
| naturally aspirated 2.5L | 2,700 lbs |
All 4 2020 Outback configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2020 Subaru Outback Brochure V2
2019 Subaru Outback
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5iLineartronic CVTprinted '2,700 lbs. (certain limitations apply)', marked Standard in this column; the limitations are not spelled out; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 10 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same 2,700 lbs. | 2.5-liter DOHC 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (175 hp) | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| 3.6RLineartronic HCVTprinted '2,700 lbs. (certain limitations apply)', marked Standard in this column; the limitations are not spelled out; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 10 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same 2,700 lbs. | 3.6-liter DOHC 6-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (256 hp) | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| Accessory Trailer Hitch (not split by trim or engine)accessory text: 'Heavy-duty rated at 2,700 lbs. towing capacity and 200 lbs. tongue weight'; trailer brakes may be needed | AWD | 2,700 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 10 |
Source: 2019 Subaru Outback Brochure
2018 Subaru Outback
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Outback 2.5i and 3.6R (single value printed across both columns, 'certain limitations apply')drive AWD: brochure lists Subaru Symmetrical All-Wheel Drive as standard; one value printed for both engines | 2.5i / 3.6R | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 |
Source: 2018 Subaru Outback Brochure
2017 Subaru Outback
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2.5iLineartronic CVTone figure (2,700 lbs.) printed for the row, marked Standard in this column; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 10 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same 2,700 lbs. | 2.5-liter DOHC 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (175 hp) | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| 3.6RLineartronic HCVTone figure (2,700 lbs.) printed for the row, marked Standard in this column; hitch recorded as conventional because the accessory Trailer Hitch text on page 10 rates the ball-type hitch ('Hitch ball not included') at the same 2,700 lbs. | 3.6-liter DOHC 6-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (256 hp) | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 9 | ||
| Accessory Trailer Hitch (not split by trim or engine)accessory text: 'Heavy-duty rated at 2,700 lbs. towing capacity and 200 lbs. tongue weight'; trailer brakes may be needed; the same text is printed again on page 11 | AWD | 2,700 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 10 |
Source: 2017 Subaru Outback Brochure
2016 Subaru Outback
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accessory Trailer Hitch, 'up to' figure (not split by 2.5i / 3.6R)headline maximum only: accessory text says 'Heavy-duty rated at up to 3,000 lbs towing capacity and 200 lbs tongue weight'; no per-engine or per-trim towing figure anywhere in the brochure; trailer brakes may be needed | AWD | 3,000 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 12 |
Source: 2016 Subaru Outback Brochure
2015 Subaru Outback
Conventional (ball hitch)
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accessory Trailer Hitch, 'up to' figure (not split by 2.5i / 3.6R)headline maximum only: accessory text says 'Heavy-duty rated at up to 3,000 lbs towing capacity and 200 lbs tongue weight'; no per-engine or per-trim towing figure anywhere in the brochure; trailer brakes may be needed | AWD | 3,000 lbs | Subaru accessory Trailer Hitch; hitch ball not included | p. 11 |
Source: 2015 Subaru Outback Brochure
Common questions
How has the Subaru Outback's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 3,500 lbs; 2025: 3,500 lbs; 2024: 3,500 lbs; 2023: 3,500 lbs; 2022: 3,500 lbs; 2021: 3,500 lbs; 2020: 3,500 lbs; 2019: 2,700 lbs; 2018: 2,700 lbs; 2017: 2,700 lbs; 2016: 3,000 lbs; 2015: 3,000 lbs.
What hitch are the Subaru Outback ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.