2026 Subaru Outback towing capacity
Up to 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: XT, Limited XT, 260-hp 2.4-liter turbocharged SUBARU BOXER (page 2), AWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 2,700 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.
The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.
2026 Subaru Outback towing capacity by engine
The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.
2026 Subaru Outback towing capacity chart
All 6 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| XT, Limited XTprinted once for three trims: 'Limited XT, Touring XT & Wilderness: 3,500 lbs'; footnote 1: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 3 | ||
| XT, Touring XTprinted once for three trims: 'Limited XT, Touring XT & Wilderness: 3,500 lbs'; footnote 1: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 3 | ||
| Wilderness, Wildernessprinted once for three trims: 'Limited XT, Touring XT & Wilderness: 3,500 lbs'; footnote 1: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 3 |
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Premiumprinted once for three trims: 'Premium, Limited, Touring: 2,700 lbs'; footnote 1: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 3 | ||
| Limitedprinted once for three trims: 'Premium, Limited, Touring: 2,700 lbs'; footnote 1: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 3 | ||
| Touringprinted once for three trims: 'Premium, Limited, Touring: 2,700 lbs'; footnote 1: trailer brakes may be needed; hitch type not stated in this document | AWD | 2,700 lbs | p. 3 |
Common questions
Which 2026 Subaru Outback engine tows the most?
260-hp 2.4-liter turbocharged SUBARU BOXER (page 2), at up to 3,500 lbs. Next is 180-hp 2.5-liter 4-cylinder SUBARU BOXER (page 2) at up to 2,700 lbs.
Where do these numbers come from?
From 2026 Subaru Outback Brochure. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.
Towing equipment for the 2026 Subaru Outback
Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.
- Trailer wiring harness for the 2026 Subaru Outback. See on Amazon (paid link)
- Trailer hitch receiver for the 2026 Subaru Outback. See on Amazon (paid link)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.
Where these numbers come from
- 2026 Subaru Outback Brochure, Subaru. Manufacturer spec sheet. Retrieved October 3, 2026.
Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.
Related ratings
- 2025 Subaru Outback towing capacity
- Every year of the Subaru Outback
- Other SUVs that can tow 3,500 lbs
- 2026 Subaru Ascent, up to 5,000 lbs
- 2026 Subaru Forester, up to 3,500 lbs
- 2026 Subaru Forester Hybrid, up to 1,500 lbs