2023 Toyota RAV4 towing capacity

Up to 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: Adventure, Adventure grade/TRD, 2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 1,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating3,500 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 1,500 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2023 Toyota RAV4 towing capacity chart

All 6 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2023 Toyota RAV4 2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Adventure, Adventure grade/TRDPrinted '3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD)'; one row per grade named. The tow line says 'TRD'; p1 names the grade 'TRD Off-Road'. Drive not stated on the tow line, left null. Tongue weight 350 lbs. from the next line, same grades. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.3,500 lbsp. 5
TRD Off-Road, Adventure grade/TRDPrinted '3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD)'; one row per grade named. The tow line says 'TRD'; p1 names the grade 'TRD Off-Road'. Drive not stated on the tow line, left null. Tongue weight 350 lbs. from the next line, same grades. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.3,500 lbsp. 5
LE, LE, XLE, XLE Premium and LimitedPrinted '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)'; one row per grade named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight label under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 150 lbs. from the next line, same grades. GVWR and payload are printed by drive and left null. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.1,500 lbsp. 5
XLE, LE, XLE, XLE Premium and LimitedPrinted '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)'; one row per grade named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight label under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 150 lbs. from the next line, same grades. GVWR and payload are printed by drive and left null. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.1,500 lbsp. 5
XLE Premium, LE, XLE, XLE Premium and LimitedPrinted '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)'; one row per grade named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight label under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 150 lbs. from the next line, same grades. GVWR and payload are printed by drive and left null. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.1,500 lbsp. 5
Limited, LE, XLE, XLE Premium and LimitedPrinted '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)'; one row per grade named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight label under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 150 lbs. from the next line, same grades. GVWR and payload are printed by drive and left null. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.1,500 lbsp. 5

Common questions

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2023 Toyota RAV4 Product Info. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2023 Toyota RAV4

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings