Toyota RAV4 towing capacity

The 2025 Toyota RAV4 is rated for 1,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). The source gives one figure for it.

2025 Toyota RAV4, highest published rating1,500 lbsHitch type not stated.

Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.

Jump to a year

2025 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder1,500 lbs

All 4 2025 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2025 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2024 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 6 2024 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2024 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2023 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 6 2023 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2023 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2022 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 6 2022 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2022 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2021 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 6 2021 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2021 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2020 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 6 2020 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2020 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2019 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 5 2019 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2019 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2018 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter, four-cylinder3,500 lbs

All 6 2018 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2018 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2017 Toyota RAV4

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
Engine not named in the table1,500 lbs

All 4 2017 RAV4 configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2017 Toyota RAV4 eBrochure

2016 Toyota RAV4

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all grades FWD6-speed ECT-i automaticOne unqualified figure '1,500 lbs.' for the whole sheet. Page note: 'All specs are for both Front-wheel drive (FWD) and All-wheel drive (AWD) unless otherwise noted', so one row per drive. Grades on this sheet are LE, XLE, SE and Limited; the towing line names none. GVWR is printed per drive, payload '900lbs.' once. Engine and transmission from p1. No hitch type stated, hitch null.2.5-liter, four-cylinderFWD1,500 lbsp. 4
all grades AWD6-speed ECT-i automaticOne unqualified figure '1,500 lbs.' for the whole sheet. Page note: 'All specs are for both Front-wheel drive (FWD) and All-wheel drive (AWD) unless otherwise noted', so one row per drive. Grades on this sheet are LE, XLE, SE and Limited; the towing line names none. GVWR is printed per drive, payload '900lbs.' once. Engine and transmission from p1. No hitch type stated, hitch null.2.5-liter, four-cylinderAWD1,500 lbsp. 4

Source: 2016 Toyota RAV4 Product Info

2015 Toyota RAV4

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
LE, LEOne column per grade, no FWD/AWD split on the towing row, so drive is null. Row label reads 'Towing capacity (lb.), standard'. Footnote 3 (p16) says additional equipment is required for towing; footnote 2 is the general towing caution. Engine from p11, the only engine. p15 lists a tow hitch receiver with wire harness and ball mount as an accessory; the brochure does not say the rating is for it, so hitch is null.2.5-Liter 4-Cylinder DOHC 16-Valve with Dual VVT-i1,500 lbsp. 12
XLE, XLEOne column per grade, no FWD/AWD split on the towing row, so drive is null. Row label reads 'Towing capacity (lb.), standard'. Footnote 3 (p16) says additional equipment is required for towing; footnote 2 is the general towing caution. Engine from p11, the only engine. p15 lists a tow hitch receiver with wire harness and ball mount as an accessory; the brochure does not say the rating is for it, so hitch is null.2.5-Liter 4-Cylinder DOHC 16-Valve with Dual VVT-i1,500 lbsp. 12
LIMITED, LIMITEDOne column per grade, no FWD/AWD split on the towing row, so drive is null. Row label reads 'Towing capacity (lb.), standard'. Footnote 3 (p16) says additional equipment is required for towing; footnote 2 is the general towing caution. Engine from p11, the only engine. p15 lists a tow hitch receiver with wire harness and ball mount as an accessory; the brochure does not say the rating is for it, so hitch is null.2.5-Liter 4-Cylinder DOHC 16-Valve with Dual VVT-i1,500 lbsp. 12

Source: 2015 Toyota RAV4 eBrochure

Common questions

How has the Toyota RAV4's towing capacity changed by year?

Highest published rating by model year: 2025: 1,500 lbs; 2024: 3,500 lbs; 2023: 3,500 lbs; 2022: 3,500 lbs; 2021: 3,500 lbs; 2020: 3,500 lbs; 2019: 3,500 lbs; 2018: 3,500 lbs; 2017: 1,500 lbs; 2016: 1,500 lbs; 2015: 1,500 lbs.

What hitch are the Toyota RAV4 ratings for?

For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.

Other Toyota models