Toyota Land Cruiser towing capacity
The 2026 Toyota Land Cruiser is rated for 6,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). The source gives one figure for it.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all grades (single value column; feature pages list grades 1958 and Land Cruiser)Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote **). One figure for the model; the spec pages have a single value column. Drive 4WD because the p1 layout reads '4x4 front engine with full-time four-wheel drive'. GVWR 6,725 lbs. is a single value on the same page. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No tongue weight is printed. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | i-FORCE MAX 2.4-liter 4-cylinder Hybrid Turbocharged | 4WD | 6,000 lbs | p. 3 |
2025 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all grades (single value column; feature pages list grades 1958 and Land Cruiser)Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote **). One figure for the model; the spec pages have a single value column. Drive 4WD because the p1 layout reads '4x4 front engine with full-time four-wheel drive'. GVWR 6,725 lbs. is a single value on the same page. Engine from p1, the only engine listed. No tongue weight is printed. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | i-FORCE MAX 2.4-liter 4-cylinder Hybrid Turbocharged | 4WD | 6,000 lbs | p. 3 |
2024 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 'allows Land Cruiser to tow up to 6,000 pounds' (no grade or configuration given)eight-speed automatic transmissionHeadline maximum from press release prose ('tow up to 6,000 pounds'); there is no per-trim table in this document. Drive 4WD because p2 says every 2024 Land Cruiser has the i-FORCE MAX hybrid powertrain mated to a full-time four-wheel drive system. Engine and transmission wording from p2. No hitch type is named, so hitch is null. | i-FORCE MAX hybrid powertrain (2.4-liter turbo-charged engine) | 4WD | 6,000 lbs | p. 3 |
2021 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser (single grade)8-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). Single-grade vehicle, one figure for the model. Engine, transmission and 'Full-time four-wheel drive' layout from p1. GVWR and payload are printed as '(2WD/4WD)' with one value each. p7 lists 'Integrated towing receiver hitch and wiring harness with four- and seven-pin connectors' as standard, but the sheet does not say the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. No tongue weight or GCWR row on this sheet. | 5.7-liter, 8-cylinder | 4WD | 8,100 lbs | p. 4 |
2020 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser (single grade)8-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). Single-grade vehicle, one figure for the model. Engine, transmission and 'Full-time four-wheel drive' layout from p1. GVWR and payload are printed as '(2WD/4WD)' with one value each. p7 lists 'Integrated towing receiver hitch and wiring harness with four- and seven-pin connectors' as standard, but the sheet does not say the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. No tongue weight or GCWR row on this sheet. | 5.7-liter, 8-cylinder | 4WD | 8,100 lbs | p. 4 |
2019 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser (single grade)8-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). Single-grade vehicle, one figure for the model. Engine, transmission and 'Full-time four-wheel drive' layout from p1. GVWR and payload are printed as '(2WD/4WD)' with one value each. p7 lists 'Integrated towing receiver hitch and wiring harness with four- and seven-pin connectors' as standard, but the sheet does not say the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Maximum Tongue Weight and Gross Combined Weight Rating are printed as 'TBD'. | 5.7-liter, 8-cylinder | 4WD | 8,100 lbs | p. 4 |
2018 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser8-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic Transmission with intelligence (ECT-i)Headline max from press release prose ('The standard Trailer Towing Package equips it to pull a trailer up to 8,100 pounds'); no per-trim table. The release names a full-time 4WD system on p2 but the towing sentence gives no drive, so drive is null. No hitch type stated for the rating, hitch null. | 5.7-liter DOHC V8 | 8,100 lbs | Trailer Towing Package (standard) | p. 2 |
2017 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser (single grade)8-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). Single-grade vehicle, one figure for the model. Engine, transmission and 'Full-time four-wheel drive' layout from p1. GVWR and payload are printed as '(2WD/4WD)' with one value each. p7 lists 'Integrated towing receiver hitch and wiring harness with four- and seven-pin connectors' as standard, but the sheet does not say the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Maximum Tongue Weight and Gross Combined Weight Rating are printed as 'TBD'. | 5.7-liter, 8-cylinder | 4WD | 8,100 lbs | p. 4 |
2016 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser (single grade)8-speed ECT automatic with sequential shift modePer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). Single-grade vehicle, one figure for the model. Engine, transmission and 'Full-time four-wheel drive' layout from p1. GVWR and payload are printed as '(2WD/4WD)' with one value each. p7 lists 'Integrated towing receiver hitch and wiring harness with four- and seven-pin connectors' as standard, but the sheet does not say the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. | 5.7-liter, 8-cylinder | 4WD | 8,100 lbs | 15,885 lbs | p. 4 |
2015 Toyota Land Cruiser
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | GCWR | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Land Cruiser (single grade)6-speed ECT automatic with sequential shift modePer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). Single-grade vehicle, one figure for the model. Engine, transmission and 'Full-time four-wheel drive' layout from p1. GVWR and payload are printed as '(2WD/4WD)' with one value each. p7 lists 'Integrated towing receiver hitch and wiring harness with four- and seven-pin connectors' as standard, but the sheet does not say the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. | 5.7-liter, 8-cylinder | 4WD | 8,200 lbs | 15,885 lbs | p. 4 |
Common questions
How has the Toyota Land Cruiser's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 6,000 lbs; 2025: 6,000 lbs; 2024: 6,000 lbs; 2021: 8,100 lbs; 2020: 8,100 lbs; 2019: 8,100 lbs; 2018: 8,100 lbs; 2017: 8,100 lbs; 2016: 8,100 lbs; 2015: 8,200 lbs.
What hitch are the Toyota Land Cruiser ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.