Toyota RAV4 Hybrid towing capacity

The 2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid is rated for up to 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for), in its best-equipped configuration. Other configurations are rated lower.

2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid, highest published rating3,500 lbsHitch type not stated. Most are rated lower, so find yours in the year tables.

Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.

Jump to a year

2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Highest rating for each engine
EngineHitch type not stated
2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (A25A-FXS, hybrid)3,500 lbs

All 9 2026 RAV4 Hybrid configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment

Source: 2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2025 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all grades (no grade or drive qualifier printed on the tow line)Printed 'Max Towing Capacity 1,750 lbs.' with no grade qualifier. Grades named in the curb weight lines of the same table: LE HV, Woodland, XLE HV, XLE Premium HV, SE HV, XSE HV, Limited HV. Drive AWD because the drivetrain layout on p2 lists only Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel Drive. GVWR 4,920 lbs. and tongue weight 175 lbs. are single values in the same table. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid, 219 combined net hp)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2025 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2024 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all grades (no grade or drive qualifier printed on the tow line)Printed 'Max Towing Capacity 1,750 lbs.' with no grade qualifier. Grades named in the curb weight lines of the same table: LE HV, Woodland, XLE HV, XLE Premium HV, SE HV, XSE HV, Limited HV. Drive AWD because the drivetrain layout on p2 lists only Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel Drive. GVWR 4,920 lbs. and tongue weight 175 lbs. are single values in the same table. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid, 219 combined net hp)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2024 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2023 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all grades (no grade or drive qualifier printed on the tow line)Printed 'Max Towing Capacity 1,750 lbs.' with no grade qualifier. Grades named in the curb weight lines of the same table: LE HV, Woodland, XLE HV, XLE Premium HV, SE HV, XSE HV, Limited HV. Drive AWD because the drivetrain layout on p2 lists only Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel Drive. GVWR 4,920 lbs. and tongue weight 175 lbs. are single values in the same table. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid, 219 combined net hp)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2023 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2022 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all grades (no grade or drive qualifier printed on the tow line)Printed 'Max Towing Capacity 1,750 lbs.' with no grade qualifier. Grades named in the curb weight lines of the same table: LE HV, XLE HV, XLE Premium HV, SE HV, XSE HV, Limited HV. Drive AWD because the drivetrain layout on p2 lists only Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel Drive. GVWR 4,920 lbs. and tongue weight 175 lbs. are single values in the same table. Payload is printed by grade (1,230 LE HV; 1,165 XLE HV, XLE Premium HV, SE HV and XSE HV; 1,140 Limited HV) and left null on this all-grade row. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid, 219 combined net hp)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2022 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2021 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all hybrid gradesElectronically controlled Continuously Variable TransmissionOne unqualified figure '1,750 lbs.' for the sheet; grades on the sheet are LE HV, XLE HV, XLE Premium HV, XSE HV and Limited HV. Drive from the p2 layout line 'Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel Drive (AWD)', the only layout. GVWR '4,920 lbs.' is also printed once. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating'. No hitch type stated, hitch null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2021 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2020 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all hybrid gradesElectronically controlled Continuously Variable TransmissionOne unqualified figure '1,750 lbs.' for the sheet; grades on the sheet are LE HV, XLE HV, XSE HV and Limited HV. Drive from the p2 layout line 'Electronic On-Demand All-Wheel Drive (AWD)', the only layout. GVWR '4,920 lbs.' is also printed once. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating'. No hitch type stated, hitch null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2020 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2019 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
all hybrid gradesElectronically controlled Continuously Variable TransmissionOne unqualified figure '1,750 lbs.' for the sheet; grades on the sheet are LE HV, XLE HV, XSE HV and Limited HV. Drive from the p2 layout line 'Electronic On-Demand AWD (AWD)', the only layout. GVWR '4,920 lbs.' is also printed once. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating'. No hitch type stated, hitch null.2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder (hybrid)AWD1,750 lbsp. 4

Source: 2019 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid Product Info

2017 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

ConfigurationEngineDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
XLE HYBRID, XLE HYBRIDOne column per grade, placed by column position on the page image. No unit on the row label ('Tow capacity') and no FWD/AWD split, so drive is null. GVWR from the same column. Footnote 43 (p26) is the general towing caution. No hitch type stated, hitch null.1,750 lbsp. 25
LIMITED HYBRID, LIMITED HYBRIDOne column per grade, placed by column position on the page image. No unit on the row label ('Tow capacity') and no FWD/AWD split, so drive is null. GVWR from the same column. Footnote 43 (p26) is the general towing caution. No hitch type stated, hitch null.1,750 lbsp. 25

Source: 2017 Toyota RAV4 eBrochure

Common questions

How has the Toyota RAV4 Hybrid's towing capacity changed by year?

Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 3,500 lbs; 2025: 1,750 lbs; 2024: 1,750 lbs; 2023: 1,750 lbs; 2022: 1,750 lbs; 2021: 1,750 lbs; 2020: 1,750 lbs; 2019: 1,750 lbs; 2017: 1,750 lbs.

What hitch are the Toyota RAV4 Hybrid ratings for?

For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.

Other Toyota models