Toyota 4Runner towing capacity
The 2026 Toyota 4Runner is rated for 6,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). The source gives one figure for it.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Toyota 4Runner
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all grades (2WD, 4WD, i-FORCE MAX)Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote **). One figure printed across the whole TOWING table, which sits under a weights table covering 2WD SR5/TRD Sport/Limited, 4WD SR5/TRD Sport/TRD Off-Road/Limited and i-FORCE MAX TRD Off-Road/Limited/TRD Pro/Trailhunter/Platinum. No hitch type named anywhere in the document. | i-FORCE and i-FORCE MAX (all) | 6,000 lbs | p. 4 |
Source: 2026 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2025 Toyota 4Runner
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all grades (2WD, 4WD, i-FORCE MAX)Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote **). One figure printed across the whole TOWING table, which sits under a weights table covering 2WD SR5/TRD Sport/Limited, 4WD SR5/TRD Sport/TRD Off-Road/Limited and i-FORCE MAX TRD Off-Road/Limited/TRD Pro/Trailhunter/Platinum. No hitch type named anywhere in the document. | i-FORCE and i-FORCE MAX (all) | 6,000 lbs | p. 4 |
Source: 2025 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2024 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2024 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2024 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2023 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2023 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2023 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2022 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2022 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2022 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2021 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2021 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2021 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2020 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2020 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2020 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2019 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2019 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2019 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2018 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| Engine not named in the table | 5,000 lbs |
All 6 2018 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2018 Toyota 4Runner eBrochure
2017 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2017 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2017 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2016 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2016 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2016 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
2015 Toyota 4Runner
| Engine | Conventional |
|---|---|
| 4.0-liter, 6-cylinder | 5,000 lbs |
All 7 2015 4Runner configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2015 Toyota 4Runner Product Info
Common questions
How has the Toyota 4Runner's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 6,000 lbs; 2025: 6,000 lbs; 2024: 5,000 lbs; 2023: 5,000 lbs; 2022: 5,000 lbs; 2021: 5,000 lbs; 2020: 5,000 lbs; 2019: 5,000 lbs; 2018: 5,000 lbs; 2017: 5,000 lbs; 2016: 5,000 lbs; 2015: 5,000 lbs.
What hitch are the Toyota 4Runner ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.