2018 Toyota 4Runner towing capacity

5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: SR5, SR5.

Highest published rating5,000 lbsHitch type not stated.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2018 Toyota 4Runner towing capacity chart

All 6 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2018 Toyota 4Runner towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
SR5, SR5SAE J2807 per section header. Table has one column per grade with no 4x2/4x4 split, so drive is null. An integrated towing hitch receiver is listed standard on every grade in the same section, but the brochure never says the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Footnote 39 (p27) is the general towing caution about curb weight, cargo and added equipment.5,000 lbsp. 25
SR5 Premium, SR5 PremiumSAE J2807 per section header. Table has one column per grade with no 4x2/4x4 split, so drive is null. An integrated towing hitch receiver is listed standard on every grade in the same section, but the brochure never says the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Footnote 39 (p27) is the general towing caution about curb weight, cargo and added equipment.5,000 lbsp. 25
TRD Off-Road, TRD Off-RoadSAE J2807 per section header. Table has one column per grade with no 4x2/4x4 split, so drive is null. An integrated towing hitch receiver is listed standard on every grade in the same section, but the brochure never says the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Footnote 39 (p27) is the general towing caution about curb weight, cargo and added equipment.5,000 lbsp. 25
TRD Off-Road Premium, TRD Off-Road PremiumSAE J2807 per section header. Table has one column per grade with no 4x2/4x4 split, so drive is null. An integrated towing hitch receiver is listed standard on every grade in the same section, but the brochure never says the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Footnote 39 (p27) is the general towing caution about curb weight, cargo and added equipment.5,000 lbsp. 25
Limited, LimitedSAE J2807 per section header. Table has one column per grade with no 4x2/4x4 split, so drive is null. An integrated towing hitch receiver is listed standard on every grade in the same section, but the brochure never says the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Footnote 39 (p27) is the general towing caution about curb weight, cargo and added equipment.5,000 lbsp. 25
TRD Pro, TRD ProSAE J2807 per section header. Table has one column per grade with no 4x2/4x4 split, so drive is null. An integrated towing hitch receiver is listed standard on every grade in the same section, but the brochure never says the rating is for that hitch, so hitch is null. Footnote 39 (p27) is the general towing caution about curb weight, cargo and added equipment.5,000 lbsp. 25

Common questions

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2018 Toyota 4Runner eBrochure. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2018 Toyota 4Runner

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings