2018 Toyota Tundra towing capacity

Up to 10,200 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: 4x2 Double Cab, V8 (row label 'Maximum V8'; engine size not stated on the towing row), 2WD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 9,800 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating10,200 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 9,800 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2018 Toyota Tundra towing capacity chart

All 4 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2018 Toyota Tundra V8 (row label 'Maximum V8'; engine size not stated on the towing row) towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
4x2 Double CabPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). One maximum per cab and drive column, placed by x position (pdfplumber); the row does not split by 4.6-liter/5.7-liter, bed length or grade. Tongue weight from the 'Maximum V8 Tongue Weight' row, same column. GCWR row is labelled 'Gross Combined Weight Rating (4x2 & 4x4 with Tow Package)'. GVWR and payload are printed as ranges for the column ('6,700 - 7,000' and '1,600 – 1,730'), so left null. p14 lists a Tow Package (5.7L V8 only) with towing receiver hitch and 4.30 axle ratio, but the towing row names no package, axle or hitch type, so those are null.2WD10,200 lbs16,000 lbsp. 5
4x2 CrewMaxPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). One maximum per cab and drive column, placed by x position (pdfplumber); the row does not split by 4.6-liter/5.7-liter, bed length or grade. Tongue weight from the 'Maximum V8 Tongue Weight' row, same column. GCWR row is labelled 'Gross Combined Weight Rating (4x2 & 4x4 with Tow Package)'. GVWR and payload are printed as ranges for the column ('6,800 - 7,000' and '1,550 – 1,660'), so left null. p14 lists a Tow Package (5.7L V8 only) with towing receiver hitch and 4.30 axle ratio, but the towing row names no package, axle or hitch type, so those are null.2WD10,100 lbs16,000 lbsp. 5
4x4 Double CabPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). One maximum per cab and drive column, placed by x position (pdfplumber); the row does not split by 4.6-liter/5.7-liter, bed length or grade. Tongue weight from the 'Maximum V8 Tongue Weight' row, same column. GCWR row is labelled 'Gross Combined Weight Rating (4x2 & 4x4 with Tow Package)'. GVWR and payload are printed as ranges for the column ('6,900 – 7,200' and '1,490 – 1,600'), so left null. p14 lists a Tow Package (5.7L V8 only) with towing receiver hitch and 4.30 axle ratio, but the towing row names no package, axle or hitch type, so those are null.4WD9,900 lbs16,000 lbsp. 5
4x4 CrewMaxPer SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote *). One maximum per cab and drive column, placed by x position (pdfplumber); the row does not split by 4.6-liter/5.7-liter, bed length or grade. Tongue weight from the 'Maximum V8 Tongue Weight' row, same column. GCWR row is labelled 'Gross Combined Weight Rating (4x2 & 4x4 with Tow Package)'. GVWR and payload are printed as ranges for the column ('7,000 - 7,200' and '1,440 - 1,560'), so left null. p14 lists a Tow Package (5.7L V8 only) with towing receiver hitch and 4.30 axle ratio, but the towing row names no package, axle or hitch type, so those are null.4WD9,800 lbs16,000 lbsp. 5

Common questions

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2018 Tundra Product Information. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2018 Toyota Tundra

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings