Toyota Grand Highlander towing capacity
The 2026 Toyota Grand Highlander is rated for up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for), in its best-equipped configuration. Other configurations are rated lower.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Toyota Grand Highlander
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gas/Hybrid MAXPrinted 'Gas/Hybrid MAX: 5,000 lbs.'; one row per powertrain named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight line under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 500 lbs. from the next line, same powertrain. GVWR is printed by grade, seats and drive and left null. Engine wording from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | Gas: 2.4-liter 4-cylinder Turbo | 5,000 lbs | p. 7 | |||
| Gas/Hybrid MAXPrinted 'Gas/Hybrid MAX: 5,000 lbs.'; one row per powertrain named. Drive AWD: the GVWR lines on the same page list Hybrid MAX only as AWD and the p2 layout says Full-Time Electronic AWD. Tongue weight 500 lbs. from the next line, same powertrain. GVWR is printed by grade, seats and drive and left null. Engine wording from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | Hybrid MAX: 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbo Hybrid MAX | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 7 | ||
| HybridPrinted 'Hybrid: 3,500 lbs.'; one row per powertrain named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight line under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 350 lbs. from the next line, same powertrain. GVWR is printed by grade, seats and drive and left null. Engine wording from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | Hybrid: 2.5-liter 4-Cylinder Hybrid | 3,500 lbs | p. 7 |
2025 Toyota Grand Highlander
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gas/Hybrid MAXPrinted 'Gas/Hybrid MAX: 5,000 lbs.'; one row per powertrain named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight line under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 500 lbs. from the next line, same powertrain. GVWR is printed by grade, seats and drive and left null. Engine wording from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | Gas: 2.4-liter 4-cylinder Turbo | 5,000 lbs | p. 7 | |||
| Gas/Hybrid MAXPrinted 'Gas/Hybrid MAX: 5,000 lbs.'; one row per powertrain named. Drive AWD: the GVWR lines on the same page list Hybrid MAX only as AWD and the p2 layout says Full-Time Electronic AWD. Tongue weight 500 lbs. from the next line, same powertrain. GVWR is printed by grade, seats and drive and left null. Engine wording from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | Hybrid MAX: 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbo Hybrid MAX | AWD | 5,000 lbs | p. 7 | ||
| HybridPrinted 'Hybrid: 3,500 lbs.'; one row per powertrain named. The tow line does not split by drive (the tongue weight line under it reads 'FWD/AWD'), so drive is null. Tongue weight 350 lbs. from the next line, same powertrain. GVWR is printed by grade, seats and drive and left null. Engine wording from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | Hybrid: 2.5-liter 4-Cylinder Hybrid | 3,500 lbs | p. 7 |
2024 Toyota Grand Highlander
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| Gasoline engine — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbocharged | 5,000 lbs |
| Hybrid MAX powertrain — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbo Hybrid MAX | 5,000 lbs |
| Hybrid powertrain — 2.5-liter L4HV | 3,500 lbs |
All 7 2024 Grand Highlander configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Common questions
How has the Toyota Grand Highlander's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 5,000 lbs; 2025: 5,000 lbs; 2024: 5,000 lbs.
What hitch are the Toyota Grand Highlander ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.