2024 Toyota Grand Highlander towing capacity

Up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: XLE, XLE, Gasoline engine — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbocharged. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 3,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating5,000 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 3,500 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2024 Toyota Grand Highlander towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
Gasoline engine — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbocharged5,000 lbs3
Hybrid MAX powertrain — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbo Hybrid MAX5,000 lbs2
Hybrid powertrain — 2.5-liter L4HV3,500 lbs2

2024 Toyota Grand Highlander towing capacity chart

All 7 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2024 Toyota Grand Highlander Gasoline engine — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbocharged towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
XLE, XLEDirect Shift-8AT 8-speedPrinted '5000' without a comma under the column head 'XLE'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. The same table marks both Front-Wheel Drive and AWD for this column and the tow row does not split them, so drive is null. Tongue weight 500 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.5,000 lbsp. 19
Limited, LimitedDirect Shift-8AT 8-speedPrinted '5000' without a comma under the column head 'Limited'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. The same table marks both Front-Wheel Drive and AWD for this column and the tow row does not split them, so drive is null. Tongue weight 500 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.5,000 lbsp. 19
Platinum, PlatinumDirect Shift-8AT 8-speedPrinted '5000' without a comma under the column head 'Platinum'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. Drive AWD: the same table marks only Dynamic Torque Control AWD for this column. Tongue weight 500 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 19
2024 Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid MAX powertrain — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbo Hybrid MAX towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Hybrid MAX Limited, Hybrid MAX LimitedDirect Shift-6AT 6-speedPrinted '5000' without a comma under the column head 'Hybrid MAX Limited'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. Drive AWD: the same table marks Full-Time Electronic All-Wheel Drive for this column. Tongue weight 500 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 19
Hybrid MAX Platinum, Hybrid MAX PlatinumDirect Shift-6AT 6-speedPrinted '5000' without a comma under the column head 'Hybrid MAX Platinum'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. Drive AWD: the same table marks Full-Time Electronic All-Wheel Drive for this column. Tongue weight 500 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 19
2024 Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid powertrain — 2.5-liter L4HV towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Hybrid XLE, Hybrid XLEECVTPrinted '3500' without a comma under the column head 'Hybrid XLE'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. The same table marks Front-Wheel Drive and AWD ('S (AWD)') for this column and the tow row does not split them, so drive is null. Tongue weight 350 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.3,500 lbsp. 19
Hybrid Limited, Hybrid LimitedECVTPrinted '3500' without a comma under the column head 'Hybrid Limited'. Footnote 4: do not exceed published capacities; the maximum depends on curb weight plus cargo, occupants and added equipment. Drive AWD: the same table marks only Electronic On-Demand AWD for this column. Tongue weight 350 from the row above, same column. Engine and transmission from the S marks in the same table. The brochure lists 'Tow hitch' only as an accessory (p16); the rating is not tied to a hitch type, so hitch is null.AWD3,500 lbsp. 19

Common questions

Which 2024 Toyota Grand Highlander engine tows the most?

Gasoline engine — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbocharged, at up to 5,000 lbs. Next is Hybrid MAX powertrain — 2.4-liter 4-cylinder turbo Hybrid MAX at up to 5,000 lbs.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2024 Toyota Grand Highlander eBrochure. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2024 Toyota Grand Highlander

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings