Toyota Highlander Hybrid towing capacity
The 2026 Toyota Highlander Hybrid is rated for 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). The source gives one figure for it.
Source documents last retrieved October 3, 2026.
Jump to a year
2026 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all grades (no qualifier printed on the tow line)Printed 'Max Towing Capacity 3,500 lbs.' with no qualifier. Drive AWD because the p1 layout lists only Electronic On-Demand All Wheel Drive. GVWR 6,000 lbs. is a single value in the same table. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | 2.5-liter L4HV | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 4 |
2025 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all grades (no qualifier printed on the tow line)Printed 'Max Towing Capacity 3,500 lbs.' with no qualifier. Drive AWD because the p1 layout lists only Electronic On-Demand All Wheel Drive. GVWR 6,000 lbs. is a single value in the same table. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | 2.5-liter L4HV | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 4 |
2024 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FWD/AWDPrinted 'FWD/AWD = 3,500 lbs.'; one row per drive, all hybrid grades. GVWR 5,960 from the GVWR line in the same table for FWD. Payload is printed by grade and drive and left null. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | 2.5-liter L4HV | FWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 4 | ||
| FWD/AWDPrinted 'FWD/AWD = 3,500 lbs.'; one row per drive, all hybrid grades. GVWR 6,000 from the GVWR line in the same table for AWD. Payload is printed by grade and drive and left null. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | 2.5-liter L4HV | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 4 |
2023 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FWD/AWD HVPrinted '3,500 lbs. (FWD/AWD HV)'; one row per drive, all hybrid grades. GVWR 5,960 from the GVWR line in the same table for FWD. Payload is printed by grade and drive and left null. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | 2.5-Liter L4HV | FWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 4 | ||
| FWD/AWD HVPrinted '3,500 lbs. (FWD/AWD HV)'; one row per drive, all hybrid grades. GVWR 6,000 from the GVWR line in the same table for AWD. Payload is printed by grade and drive and left null. Engine from p1. No hitch type is named for the rating anywhere in the document, so hitch is null. | 2.5-Liter L4HV | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 4 |
2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
| Engine | Hitch type not stated |
|---|---|
| 2.5-liter L4HV (hybrid) | 3,500 lbs |
| 2.5-Liter L4HV | 3,500 lbs |
All 7 2022 Highlander Hybrid configurations, with axle, cab and required equipment
Source: 2022 Toyota Highlander eBrochure; 2022 Toyota Highlander Hybrid Product Info
2021 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FWD HV (LE → PLTM)Electronically controlled Continuously Variable Transmission (ECVT)Printed '3,500 lbs. (FWD/AWD HV)'; one row per drive. Applies to every hybrid grade (p1 engine line: LE → PLTM FWD/AWD Hybrid). GVWR from the same page: 'LE → PLTM (FWD HV)'. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. No tongue weight or GCWR on this sheet. No hitch type stated, hitch null. | 2.5-Liter L4HV (hybrid) | FWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 6 | ||
| AWD HV (LE → PLTM)Electronically controlled Continuously Variable Transmission (ECVT)Printed '3,500 lbs. (FWD/AWD HV)'; one row per drive. Applies to every hybrid grade (p1 engine line: LE → PLTM FWD/AWD Hybrid). GVWR from the same page: 'LE → PLTM (AWD HV)'. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. No tongue weight or GCWR on this sheet. No hitch type stated, hitch null. | 2.5-Liter L4HV (hybrid) | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 6 |
2020 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FWD HV (LE → PLTM)Electronically controlled Continuously Variable Transmission (ECVT)Printed '3,500 lbs. (FWD/AWD HV)'; one row per drive. Applies to every hybrid grade (p1 engine line: LE → PLTM FWD/AWD Hybrid). GVWR from the same page: 'LE → PLTM (FWD HV)'. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. No tongue weight or GCWR on this sheet. No hitch type stated, hitch null. | 2.5-Liter L4HV (hybrid) | FWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 6 | ||
| AWD HV (LE → PLTM)Electronically controlled Continuously Variable Transmission (ECVT)Printed '3,500 lbs. (FWD/AWD HV)'; one row per drive. Applies to every hybrid grade (p1 engine line: LE → PLTM FWD/AWD Hybrid). GVWR from the same page: 'LE → PLTM (AWD HV)'. Payload is printed per grade, so left null. No tongue weight or GCWR on this sheet. No hitch type stated, hitch null. | 2.5-Liter L4HV (hybrid) | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 6 |
2019 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highlander Hybridsecondary source: Trailer Life annual towing guide; hitch type not stated by the guide | 3.5L V-6 | 3,500 lbs | p. 24 |
Source: Trailer Life 2019 Towing Guide (a compilation, not the manufacturer)
2018 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| all hybrid gradesElectronically controlled continuously variable transmissionOne unqualified figure '3,500 lbs.' for the sheet (LE, XLE, Limited, Limited Platinum). Drive from the p1 layout line 'AWD-i models equipped with front and rear electric drive motors', the only layout. GVWR is printed by grade group (6,000 LE/XLE; 6,270 Limited/Limited Platinum) and payload only for Limited/Limited Platinum (1,305), so both left null on this all-grade row. No SAE J2807 footnote on this sheet. No hitch type stated, hitch null. | 3.5-liter V6 hybrid | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 3 |
2017 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HYBRID LE, HYBRID LEOne column per grade, placed by x position (pdfplumber) and the page image. Footnote 46 (p28) is the general towing caution. No hitch type stated for the rating, hitch null. Drive: the same page prints track figures for hybrid columns only on the AWD row (FWD dash), and p26 lists Electronic On-Demand AWD as standard on hybrid grades. The row below towing prints S (standard) for 'Heavy-duty radiator with engine oil cooler, 240-watt fan coupling and supplemental transmission oil cooler'. GVWR from the same column. | Hybrid | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 27 | ||
| HYBRID XLE, HYBRID XLEOne column per grade, placed by x position (pdfplumber) and the page image. Footnote 46 (p28) is the general towing caution. No hitch type stated for the rating, hitch null. Drive: the same page prints track figures for hybrid columns only on the AWD row (FWD dash), and p26 lists Electronic On-Demand AWD as standard on hybrid grades. The row below towing prints S (standard) for 'Heavy-duty radiator with engine oil cooler, 240-watt fan coupling and supplemental transmission oil cooler'. GVWR from the same column. | Hybrid | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 27 | ||
| HYBRID LIMITED, HYBRID LIMITEDOne column per grade, placed by x position (pdfplumber) and the page image. Footnote 46 (p28) is the general towing caution. No hitch type stated for the rating, hitch null. Drive: the same page prints track figures for hybrid columns only on the AWD row (FWD dash), and p26 lists Electronic On-Demand AWD as standard on hybrid grades. The row below towing prints S (standard) for 'Heavy-duty radiator with engine oil cooler, 240-watt fan coupling and supplemental transmission oil cooler'. GVWR from the same column. | Hybrid | AWD | 3,500 lbs | p. 27 |
Source: 2017 Toyota Highlander eBrochure
2016 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highlander Hybridsecondary source: Trailer Life annual towing guide; hitch type not stated by the guide | 3.5L V-6 | 3,500 lbs | p. 15 |
Source: Trailer Life 2016 Towing Guide (a compilation, not the manufacturer)
2015 Toyota Highlander Hybrid
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Engine | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highlander Hybridsecondary source: Trailer Life annual towing guide; hitch type not stated by the guide | 3.5L V-6 | 3,500 lbs | p. 27 |
Source: Trailer Life 2015 Towing Guide (a compilation, not the manufacturer)
Common questions
How has the Toyota Highlander Hybrid's towing capacity changed by year?
Highest published rating by model year: 2026: 3,500 lbs; 2025: 3,500 lbs; 2024: 3,500 lbs; 2023: 3,500 lbs; 2022: 3,500 lbs; 2021: 3,500 lbs; 2020: 3,500 lbs; 2019: 3,500 lbs; 2018: 3,500 lbs; 2017: 3,500 lbs; 2016: 3,500 lbs; 2015: 3,500 lbs.
What hitch are the Toyota Highlander Hybrid ratings for?
For some years the manufacturer's document gives a trailer weight without naming a hitch type. We show those as "Hitch type not stated" and do not assume one.