2020 Toyota RAV4 towing capacity

Up to 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: Adventure grade, 3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD), 2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 1,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating3,500 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 1,500 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2020 Toyota RAV4 towing capacity chart

All 6 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2020 Toyota RAV4 2.5-liter Dynamic Force 4-cylinder towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Adventure grade, 3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD)Direct Shift 8-speed Electronically Controlled automaticPrinted as '3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD)' with no drive named on the towing line, so drive is null; the GVWR line prints '4,705 lbs. (AWD – Adventure grade and Limited)' and the payload line prints one figure for Adventure grade. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating' and prints 350 lbs. Engine and transmission from p1-p2. No hitch type stated, hitch null.3,500 lbsp. 5
TRD, 3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD)Direct Shift 8-speed Electronically Controlled automaticPrinted as '3,500 lbs. (Adventure grade/TRD)' with no drive named on the towing line, so drive is null; the GVWR line prints '4,705 lbs. (TRD)' and the payload line prints one figure for TRD. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating' and prints 350 lbs. Engine and transmission from p1-p2. No hitch type stated, hitch null.3,500 lbsp. 5
LE, 1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)Direct Shift 8-speed Electronically Controlled automaticPrinted once as '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)' with no drive named; one row per grade, drive null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating' and prints 150 lbs. for these grades. GVWR and payload are printed per drive, so left null. Engine and transmission from p1-p2. No hitch type stated, hitch null.1,500 lbsp. 5
XLE, 1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)Direct Shift 8-speed Electronically Controlled automaticPrinted once as '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)' with no drive named; one row per grade, drive null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating' and prints 150 lbs. for these grades. GVWR and payload are printed per drive, so left null. Engine and transmission from p1-p2. No hitch type stated, hitch null.1,500 lbsp. 5
XLE Premium, 1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)Direct Shift 8-speed Electronically Controlled automaticPrinted once as '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)' with no drive named; one row per grade, drive null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating' and prints 150 lbs. for these grades. GVWR and payload are printed per drive, so left null. Engine and transmission from p1-p2. No hitch type stated, hitch null.1,500 lbsp. 5
Limited, 1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)Direct Shift 8-speed Electronically Controlled automaticPrinted once as '1,500 lbs. (LE, XLE, XLE Premium and Limited)' with no drive named; one row per grade, drive null. Tongue weight row is labelled '10% of Tow Rating' and prints 150 lbs. for these grades. GVWR and payload are printed per drive, so left null. Engine and transmission from p1-p2. No hitch type stated, hitch null.1,500 lbsp. 5

Common questions

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2020 Toyota RAV4 Product Info. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2020 Toyota RAV4

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings