2024 Ford Explorer towing capacity

Up to 5,600 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: King Ranch and Platinum, RWD, 3.0L EcoBoost V6, RWD, 3.31 axle. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 3,000 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating5,600 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 3,000 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2024 Ford Explorer towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
3.0L EcoBoost V65,600 lbs4
3.3L Ti-VCT V65,600 lbs2
2.3L EcoBoost I45,300 lbs5
3.3L HEV V65,000 lbs4

2024 Ford Explorer towing capacity chart

All 15 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2024 Ford Explorer 3.0L EcoBoost V6 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
King Ranch and Platinum, RWDAutomaticfootnote 4: Class IV Trailer Tow Package (52T) standard on ST model; footnote 5: King Ranch and Platinum models only; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocolRWD3.315,600 lbs10,800 lbsp. 35
King Ranch and Platinum, 4WDAutomaticfootnote 4: Class IV Trailer Tow Package (52T) standard on ST model; footnote 5: King Ranch and Platinum models only; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.315,600 lbs10,800 lbsp. 35
ST, RWDAutomaticfootnote 4: Class IV Trailer Tow Package (52T) standard on ST model; footnote 6: ST model only; RWD GCWR cell is blank on this row; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocolRWD3.585,600 lbsp. 35
ST, 4WDAutomaticfootnote 4: Class IV Trailer Tow Package (52T) standard on ST model; footnote 6: ST model only; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.585,600 lbs10,800 lbsp. 35
2024 Ford Explorer 3.3L Ti-VCT V6 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
4WDAutomaticfootnote 7: fleet only; GCWR cell prints 8,000/10,600 and trailer cell prints 3,000 fn1/5,600 fn2; figures paired by position; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.585,600 lbs10,600 lbsClass IV Trailer Tow Package (52T)p. 35
4WDAutomaticfootnote 1: Explorer does not offer factory-installed towing equipment for this application; only available as dealer accessory; footnote 7: fleet only; GCWR cell prints 8,000/10,600 and trailer cell prints 3,000 fn1/5,600 fn2; figures paired by position; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.583,000 lbs8,000 lbsp. 35
2024 Ford Explorer 2.3L EcoBoost I4 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
RWDAutomatictable does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocolRWD3.585,300 lbs10,000 lbsClass IV Trailer Tow Package (52T)p. 35
4WDAutomatictable does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.585,300 lbs10,100 lbsClass IV Trailer Tow Package (52T)p. 35
Timberline, 4WDAutomaticfootnote 3: Class IV Trailer Tow Package standard on Timberline model; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.585,300 lbs10,300 lbsp. 35
RWDAutomaticfootnote 1: Explorer does not offer factory-installed towing equipment for this application; only available as dealer accessory; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocolRWD3.583,000 lbs7,700 lbsp. 35
4WDAutomaticfootnote 1: Explorer does not offer factory-installed towing equipment for this application; only available as dealer accessory; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.583,000 lbs7,800 lbsp. 35
2024 Ford Explorer 3.3L HEV V6 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
Police Interceptor Utility, RWDAutomaticfootnote 8: Police Interceptor Utility only; GCWR cell prints 8,500/10,500 and trailer cell prints 3,000 fn1/5,000 fn2; figures paired by position; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocolRWD3.585,000 lbs10,500 lbsClass IV Trailer Tow Package (52T)p. 35
Police Interceptor Utility, 4WDAutomaticfootnote 8: Police Interceptor Utility only; GCWR cell prints 8,600/10,600 and trailer cell prints 3,000 fn1/5,000 fn2; figures paired by position; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.735,000 lbs10,600 lbsClass IV Trailer Tow Package (52T)p. 35
Police Interceptor Utility, RWDAutomaticfootnote 1: Explorer does not offer factory-installed towing equipment for this application; only available as dealer accessory; footnote 8: Police Interceptor Utility only; GCWR cell prints 8,500/10,500 and trailer cell prints 3,000 fn1/5,000 fn2; figures paired by position; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocolRWD3.583,000 lbs8,500 lbsp. 35
Police Interceptor Utility, 4WDAutomaticfootnote 1: Explorer does not offer factory-installed towing equipment for this application; only available as dealer accessory; footnote 8: Police Interceptor Utility only; GCWR cell prints 8,600/10,600 and trailer cell prints 3,000 fn1/5,000 fn2; figures paired by position; table does not name the hitch type; hitch left null per protocol4WD3.733,000 lbs8,600 lbsp. 35

Common questions

Which 2024 Ford Explorer engine tows the most?

3.0L EcoBoost V6, at up to 5,600 lbs. Next is 3.3L Ti-VCT V6 at up to 5,600 lbs.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2024 Ford RV & Trailer Towing Guide. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2024 Ford Explorer

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings