2021 Honda Pilot towing capacity
Up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: LX AWD, V6, 3471 cc, AWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 3,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.
The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.
2021 Honda Pilot towing capacity chart
All 12 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.
Hitch type not stated
The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.
| Configuration | Drive | Axle | Max trailer | Needs | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LX AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| EX AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| EX-L AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Special Edition AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Touring AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Elite AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Black Edition AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | AWD | 5,000 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| LX 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| EX 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| EX-L 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Special Edition 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 | |
| Touring 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating; the towing row is the first line of page 3 and sits under the site's sticky header in the print, so it is not visible in the page image; figures read from the PDF text layer (word positions line up with the trim header columns) and match the saved HTML | 2WD | 3,500 lbs | accessory towing equipment | p. 3 |
Common questions
What does a 2021 Honda Pilot need to tow 5,000 lbs?
The source lists this for the top-rated configuration: accessory towing equipment.
Where do these numbers come from?
From 2021 Honda Pilot Specifications & Features. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.
Towing equipment for the 2021 Honda Pilot
The manufacturer's tables name this equipment for some 2021 Honda Pilot configurations. Equipment does not raise a rating. Check the Needs column for your own build before buying anything.
- Trailer hitch receiver, listed for 12 of 12 configurations. See on Amazon (paid link)
Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.
- Trailer wiring harness for the 2021 Honda Pilot. See on Amazon (paid link)
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.
Where these numbers come from
- 2021 Honda Pilot Specifications & Features, Honda. Manufacturer press specifications. Retrieved October 3, 2026.
Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.
Related ratings
- 2022 Honda Pilot towing capacity
- 2020 Honda Pilot towing capacity
- Every year of the Honda Pilot
- Other SUVs that can tow 5,000 lbs
- 2021 Honda Passport, up to 5,000 lbs
- 2021 Honda Ridgeline, up to 5,000 lbs
- 2021 Honda Odyssey, up to 3,500 lbs
- 2021 Honda CR-V, up to 1,500 lbs