2022 Honda Pilot towing capacity

Up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: Sport AWD, V6, 3471 cc, AWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 3,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating5,000 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 3,500 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2022 Honda Pilot towing capacity chart

All 11 configurations in the source, by hitch type, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2022 Honda Pilot V6, 3471 cc towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
Sport AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
EX-L AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Special Edition AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
TrailSport AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Touring AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Elite AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Black Edition AWD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as 'AWD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints 'NA / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; the print clips this last column at the right page edge ('5000lb'); the saved HTML has '5000lbs'; hitch type not stated for the ratingAWD5,000 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Sport 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating2WD3,500 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
EX-L 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating2WD3,500 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Special Edition 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating2WD3,500 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2
Touring 2WD9-Speed Automatic Transmission (9AT) with Shift-By-Wire (SBW) and Paddle Shiftersdrive is printed as '2WD' in the row label 'Towing Capacity (2WD/AWD)'; cell prints '3500 lbs / 5000lbs' for 2WD / AWD; hitch type not stated for the rating2WD3,500 lbsaccessory towing equipmentp. 2

Common questions

What does a 2022 Honda Pilot need to tow 5,000 lbs?

The source lists this for the top-rated configuration: accessory towing equipment.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2022 Honda Pilot Specifications & Features. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2022 Honda Pilot

The manufacturer's tables name this equipment for some 2022 Honda Pilot configurations. Equipment does not raise a rating. Check the Needs column for your own build before buying anything.

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings