2019 Toyota Highlander towing capacity

Up to 5,000 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: LE, LE FWD, 3.5-liter, V6, FWD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 1,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating5,000 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 1,500 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2019 Toyota Highlander towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
3.5-liter, V65,000 lbs10
2.7-liter, 4-cylinder1,500 lbs1

2019 Toyota Highlander towing capacity chart

All 11 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2019 Toyota Highlander 3.5-liter, V6 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
LE, LE FWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.FWD5,000 lbsp. 4
LE, LE AWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4
LE Plus, LE Plus FWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.FWD5,000 lbsp. 4
LE Plus, LE Plus AWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4
XLE, XLE FWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.FWD5,000 lbsp. 4
XLE, XLE AWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4
SE, SE FWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.FWD5,000 lbsp. 4
SE, SE AWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4
Limited, Limited FWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.FWD5,000 lbsp. 4
Limited, Limited AWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed once in the V6 column as '5,000 lbs. (All grades)'. Page note says specs are for both FWD and AWD unless otherwise noted, so one row per grade and drive; grades are those named in the V6 curb weight and payload lines (LE/LE Plus, XLE/SE, Limited). GVWR printed '5,840/6,000 lbs.' as FWD/AWD; payload printed as FWD/AWD per grade group. Tongue weight printed '500 lbs. w/ tow prep package'; the towing line itself names no package. No hitch type stated, hitch null.AWD5,000 lbsp. 4
2019 Toyota Highlander 2.7-liter, 4-cylinder towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerNeedsSource
LE, LE FWDFootnote * (p5): based on SAE J2807 Towing standard. Printed '1,500 lbs. (LE)' in the FOUR-CYLINDER column; that column prints 'AWD N/A', so FWD. Tongue weight printed '150 lbs. standard'. No hitch type stated, hitch null.FWD1,500 lbsp. 4

Common questions

Which 2019 Toyota Highlander engine tows the most?

3.5-liter, V6, at up to 5,000 lbs. Next is 2.7-liter, 4-cylinder at up to 1,500 lbs.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2019 Toyota Highlander Product Info. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2019 Toyota Highlander

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings