2026 Ford Escape towing capacity

Up to 3,500 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: AWD, 2.0L EcoBoost I4, AWD, 3.47 axle. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 1,500 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating3,500 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 1,500 lbs.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2026 Ford Escape towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
2.0L EcoBoost I43,500 lbs2
1.5L EcoBoost I32,000 lbs2
2.5L I4 Hybrid1,500 lbs1
2.5L I4 Plug-in Hybrid1,500 lbs1

2026 Ford Escape towing capacity chart

All 6 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2026 Ford Escape 2.0L EcoBoost I4 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
AWDAutomatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; printed as 2,000/3,500 with footnote 2 on the first figure and footnote 4 on the second; this is the second figureAWD3.473,500 lbs7,440 lbsClass II Trailer Tow Package (536)p. 42
AWDAutomatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; printed as 2,000/3,500 with footnote 2 on the first figure and footnote 4 on the second; this is the first figureAWD3.472,000 lbs7,440 lbsClass II Trailer Tow Package (536), available on ST-Line Select, ST-Line Elite and Platinum 2.0L and Hybrid/Plug-in Hybridp. 42
2026 Ford Escape 1.5L EcoBoost I3 towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
FWDAutomatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; footnote 3: no factory-installed towing equipment for this application; dealer accessory onlyFWD3.812,000 lbs5,635 lbsp. 42
AWDAutomatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is null; footnote 3: no factory-installed towing equipment for this application; dealer accessory onlyAWD3.812,000 lbs5,790 lbsp. 42
2026 Ford Escape 2.5L I4 Hybrid towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
AWDAutomatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is nullAWD2.911,500 lbs5,624 lbsClass II Trailer Tow Package (536), available on ST-Line Select, ST-Line Elite and Platinum 2.0L and Hybrid/Plug-in Hybridp. 42
2026 Ford Escape 2.5L I4 Plug-in Hybrid towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
FWDAutomatichitch type not named in this table; the guide does not state these ratings are for a conventional hitch, so hitch is nullFWD2.911,500 lbs5,785 lbsClass II Trailer Tow Package (536), available on ST-Line Select, ST-Line Elite and Platinum 2.0L and Hybrid/Plug-in Hybridp. 42

Common questions

Which 2026 Ford Escape engine tows the most?

2.0L EcoBoost I4, at up to 3,500 lbs. Next is 1.5L EcoBoost I3 at up to 2,000 lbs.

What does a 2026 Ford Escape need to tow 3,500 lbs?

The source lists this for the top-rated configuration: Class II Trailer Tow Package (536).

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2026 Ford RV & Trailer Towing Guide. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2026 Ford Escape

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings