2026 Toyota Sequoia towing capacity

Up to 9,520 lbs (the source does not say which hitch type the figure is for). That rating is for this configuration: SR5, SR5 (2WD/4WD), 2WD figure, i-FORCE MAX: 3.5-liter aluminum block V6 Hybrid, twin-turbochargers, 2WD. The lowest-rated configuration in the same tables is 8,980 lbs, so the answer for your vehicle depends on how it is equipped.

Highest published rating9,520 lbsHitch type not stated. Lowest in the same tables: 8,980 lbs.

The sources disagree or need explaining. Toyota's press sheet gives the SR5 two-wheel drive as 9,520 lbs and its full specification sheet gives 9,500 lbs. Both are shown.

The top figure belongs to one specific build. Find the row that matches your engine, cab, drive and axle, and check the label on your driver's door jamb. Passengers and cargo in the truck come off what you can tow.

2026 Toyota Sequoia towing capacity by engine

The highest rating published for each engine. Pick a figure to see every configuration behind it.

EngineHitch type not statedConfigurations
i-FORCE MAX: 3.5-liter aluminum block V6 Hybrid, twin-turbochargers9,520 lbs8
i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo9,500 lbs8

2026 Toyota Sequoia towing capacity chart

All 16 configurations in the source, by hitch type and engine, highest rating first. Each row links to the page it is printed on.

Hitch type not stated

The source gives these trailer weights without naming a hitch type. They are shown as printed.

2026 Toyota Sequoia i-FORCE MAX: 3.5-liter aluminum block V6 Hybrid, twin-turbochargers towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
SR5, SR5 (2WD/4WD), 2WD figure10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionCell prints '9,520/9,120' under the column head 'SR5 (2WD/4WD)'; this row is the 2WD figure. GVWR, payload and tongue weight from the same column, first of each pair. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.2WD9,520 lbsp. 5
Limited, Limited (2WD/4WD), 2WD figure10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionCell prints '9,300/9,020' under the column head 'Limited (2WD/4WD)'; this row is the 2WD figure. GVWR, payload and tongue weight from the same column, same position in the pair. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.2WD9,300 lbsp. 5
Limited, Limited (2WD/4WD), 4WD figure10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionCell prints '9,300/9,020' under the column head 'Limited (2WD/4WD)'; this row is the 4WD figure. GVWR, payload and tongue weight from the same column, same position in the pair. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.4WD9,020 lbsp. 5
TRD PRO, TRD PRO (4WD)10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionSingle figure under the column head 'TRD PRO (4WD)'. GVWR, payload and tongue weight from the same column. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.4WD9,020 lbsp. 5
SR5, SR5 (2WD/4WD), 4WD figure10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionNUMBER NOT RECORDED: the page image reads '9,520/9,120' for this cell, so the 4WD figure reads 9,120 on the image, but the narrow column wraps the last digit onto a second line and the text layer gives '9,520/9,12' then '0', which the checker cannot ground. GVWR 7,585 and payload 1,555 are also wrapped in the text layer and are read from the image; tongue weight 912 is in the text. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.4WDNot readable in the sourcep. 5
PLATINUM, PLATINUM (4WD)10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionNUMBER NOT RECORDED: the column head reads 'PLATINUM (4WD)' but the towing cell prints two figures, '9,310/9,010', in the 2WD/4WD pair pattern of the SR5 and Limited columns. The page does not say which figure applies to a 4WD-only grade. If the pair order holds, the 4WD figure is 9,010. Curb weight, payload, GVWR and tongue weight cells in this column also print pairs (GVWR 7,375/7,560, payload 1,520/1,410, tongue 931/901) and are left null. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.4WDNot readable in the sourcep. 5
1794, 1794 (4WD)10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionNUMBER NOT RECORDED: the column head reads '1794 (4WD)' but the towing cell prints two figures, '9,310/9,010', in the 2WD/4WD pair pattern of the SR5 and Limited columns. The page does not say which figure applies to a 4WD-only grade. If the pair order holds, the 4WD figure is 9,010. The cell also wraps in the text layer ('9,310/' then '9,010'), so the pair cannot be grounded as one string. Curb weight, payload, GVWR and tongue weight cells in this column also print pairs (GVWR 7,375/7,560, payload 1,520/1,410, tongue 931/901) and are left null. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.4WDNot readable in the sourcep. 5
CAPSTONE, CAPSTONE (4WD)10-speed Electronically Controlled Automatic TransmissionNUMBER NOT RECORDED: the column head reads 'CAPSTONE (4WD)' but the towing cell prints two figures, '9,280/8,980', in the 2WD/4WD pair pattern of the SR5 and Limited columns. The page does not say which figure applies to a 4WD-only grade. If the pair order holds, the 4WD figure is 8,980. Payload, GVWR and tongue weight cells in this column also print pairs (GVWR 7,375/7,560, payload 1,485/1,375, tongue 928/898) and are left null. Per SAE J2807 Methodology (footnote * printed on p6). Gross Combined Weight Rating is printed on p6 as a single value, 15,600, not on this page, so gcwr is null here. Engine from p1 and transmission from p2, the only powertrain listed. p2 prints differential ratio 3.31; it is not on this page, so axle_ratio is null. No hitch type is named anywhere in the document, so hitch is null.4WDNot readable in the sourcep. 5
2026 Toyota Sequoia i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo towing capacity, hitch type not stated
ConfigurationDriveAxleMax trailerGCWRNeedsSource
SR5, SR5, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo Rear-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'SR5' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo Rear-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only).2WD9,500 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
Limited, Limited, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo Rear-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'Limited' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo Rear-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only). GVWR cell prints two figures, 7420/7350, with no key to tell them apart, so gvwr_lbs is null. Base curb weight is also printed as a pair, 5865/5830.2WD9,300 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
SR5, SR5, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'SR5' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only).4WD9,120 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
Limited, Limited, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'Limited' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only). GVWR cell prints two figures, 7660/7560, with no key to tell them apart, so gvwr_lbs is null. Base curb weight is also printed as a pair, 6185/6155.4WD9,020 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
TRD Pro, TRD Pro, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'TRD Pro' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only).4WD9,020 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
1794 Edition, 1794 Edition, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel DriveColumn heading: '1794 Edition' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only).4WD9,010 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
Platinum, Platinum, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'Platinum' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only).4WD9,010 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11
Capstone, Capstone, i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel DriveColumn heading: 'Capstone' then 'i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo 4-Wheel Drive'. Page heading prints '2026 SEQUOIA Full Specs'. Figures are printed without thousands commas. The towing row carries a disclaimer asterisk whose text is not printed in the PDF. Hitch type is not stated for the rating (page 10 lists a Class-IV towing hitch receiver as a feature only).4WD8,980 lbs15,600 lbsp. 11

Common questions

Which 2026 Toyota Sequoia engine tows the most?

i-FORCE MAX: 3.5-liter aluminum block V6 Hybrid, twin-turbochargers, at up to 9,520 lbs. Next is i-FORCE MAX Twin Turbo at up to 9,500 lbs.

Where do these numbers come from?

From 2026 Sequoia Full Specs, Weights/Capacities (Limited 4WD, 1794 Edition 4WD, TRD Pro); 2026 Sequoia Full Specs, Weights/Capacities (SR5 RWD, Limited RWD (third number is not a live model)); 2026 Sequoia Full Specs, Weights/Capacities (SR5 4WD, Platinum 4WD, Capstone 4WD); 2026 Toyota Sequoia Product Info. Each row in the tables above links to the document and gives the page the figure is printed on.

Towing equipment for the 2026 Toyota Sequoia

Parts sold to fit this vehicle. Fitting one does not raise a rating, and the tables above say what each rating needs.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. The ratings on this page come only from the documents cited.

Where these numbers come from

Page numbers count pages in the linked file, which can differ from the number printed in the corner. Report a number that looks wrong.

Related ratings